Rewinding Time

Today is Daylight Savings Time!

I woke up puzzled as to why I had awaken at 8AM on a weekend today until I came to the realization that it was daylight savings. I find it strange how we turn our clocks back and forth to accommodate the changing seasons.

It feels as if we’re either fast forwarding or rewinding time.

rewind

For the duration of the entire day until now, I have felt as if time was moving at an especially slow pace. I felt weird because I would be sitting and eating lunch, looking at the clock and seeing that it was only 11AM.

The day felt as if it was dragging on forever.

It was strange because I actually had time to do a lot of the things I hadn’t gotten around to doing. This extra time was an opportunity. I usually never have the time to sleep and eat, much less to play my guitar and clean.

I was feeling anxious the entire day due to the change, even though I knew it was one hour earlier, it still felt different. I felt like time had somehow slowed down, and that I had all the time in the world.

Looking back, it was nice to have that extra hour to do spend doing whatever I liked. Since I usually never have the time to do anything, I loved getting the chance to do things like clean, go outside, read, and draw.

However, I was still a little confused about daylight savings time, I wanted to find out more. So I found a video that explained all about it. Watching it, I learned that daylight saving time first started in Germany and was originally created to conserve electricity.

The concept of rewinding time is still mind boggling to me. By turning back our clocks, it’s as if the hour before didn’t exist.

Although it’s strange that we have in a sense, rewinded time, I’m sure we’re all grateful for that extra hour of time we’re granted at this time of year.

clock

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

