Love Trumps Hate

This past week a gay student at my high school was told by a fellow student, “people like you need to die.”

When I heard of this, I was infuriated, sad, and appalled simultaneously. Never would I have ever thought that this would happen at MY school. I’ve always viewed my school as a safe haven in a world of hate and judgement. We pride ourselves in being welcoming to all, everyone preaching tolerance and acceptance.

For this reason, I was flabbergasted to find out that this had happened in my community. I now feel scared for the LTGBTQ community in this country. Knowing it has spread to my high school scares me, it scares me how people can be so judgmental, ignorant, and above all so full of hatred.

I recently read an article entitled Love Trumps Hate. I was shocked to discover how a boy had contemplated suicide after the election due to fear and feeling as if his life didn’t matter.

In the past few days debate, opposition, and division have gripped our country. The presidential election has changed our society in a terrifying way.

It has divided us.

People have taken to social media to express their feelings such as on Twitter. With hashtags like #ImwithHer, #Facing Race, and #NotMyPresident trending worldwide people have very clearly expressed their thoughts regarding the election.

I’ve heard of the ”Calexit” trending, Californians want our state to secede from the United States as a result of Donald Trump’s election.

Here’s a link to an article surrounding the “Calexit”.

How has our country become so divided?

I believe that even if we don’t agree with each other’s thought or ideas, the least we can do is respect them. We all have our own rights: freedom of speech, freedom of expression, and freedom of religion. We are all citizens of the United Sates and this is our country.

This is why it baffles me how much hatred and ignorance people possess in our society. In the past few days I’ve seen protests, fights, and threats arise from all over the country. How has our country evolved to this state?

Vandalism, violence, and protests have sparked outrage and chaos to erupt all across the country. I believe that the election of a person whose opinions and thoughts degrade, discriminate, and disrespect others; a person who promotes racism, homophobia, misogyny and hate crimes has emboldened so many who share these ideals to follow suit and act on their hate.

Everywhere people of color, LTGBTQ people, women and all marginalized groups have fear instilled in them. They all fear the hatred people possess against difference. It shocks me how some people are threatened by difference and change, how some people will resort to violence to prove their point.

Our country is the land of the free and home of the brave. Freedom is the most important right of all. Now many are limited, many are scared due to events which have transpired over the past few days.

It saddens me how the political state of our country has caused our society to evolve.

As an Asian-American, I take pride in my culture and myself. All others who are minorities   should feel the same way. It doesn’t matter if you’re a person of color or of the LTGBTQ community. We should not be scared to be prideful of our culture and ourselves.

We must all stand together, united, in the face of opposition.

We’re all on the same team at the end of the day, we are all human beings. If you respect others, they will respect you.

The rich ethnic, religious, and racial diversity of our country is what makes it special. People all over the world migrate and immigrate here because it’s the promise land. But how has our “promise land” evolved to a land of hate, fear and discrimination.

Our differences should unite us, not divide.

love

Leave a Reply

