Smile

I’m usually an optimistic person, I try to see the positive in every situation. When people around me are down, I always try to cheer them up and give off positivity. I think that it’s always important to put others before you, because in times of trouble or sadness, you would want the same.

I know this to be painstakingly true.

A couple of weeks ago, I was going through a really hard time. I was dealing with a lot of issues, anxiety, depression, you name it. Obviously, no one wants to confront the negative and bad things in life. But that doesn’t make them go away.

We can’t delay or hide the truth.

I’ve always had my ups and downs like everyone else, its just that these things come and go. This particular period of time, I was experiencing stress about school, grades, friends, and life overall. It was difficult.

It’s kind of strange, but I tend to keep everything to myself and bottle up all my thoughts. Honestly, writing this blog post is the most open I have ever been to anyone, and its a little strange. Although I still have so much work to do, I felt the sudden urge to write my thoughts for the sake of it.

I usually don’t like to express myself and my troubles to others for fear of burdening them. This can sometimes be problematic as it contributes to my overthinking and confusion, but that’s just the way I am. So during this period of time, I had been keeping all my emotions to myself, pretending everything’s alright is what I’m best at.

So I had been going through this for a period of time until one instance had changed it all. I remember it so clearly because the moment was epiphanic in a sense.

I had been especially down that day when I walked into class. Sitting down in the same seat in the back.  I opened my books and began to take notes on the lecture. Passing out papers, my teacher handed us stacks and we began to distribute them to one another. I had been reading the notes when the person in front of me passed me the papers, taking one, I resumed passing them to the girl next to me. Continuing to pass the papers, I noticed her smile at me.

This mundane extraordinary moment meant so much more to me than she’ll ever know. The smile made me genuinely smile in return, for the first time in a couple of days. It was strange how her smile had changed my demeanor and mood almost instantly. After this moment, I don’t know why or how it changed me, but it did. I think I just needed someone to remind me to smile and look up. For days, I had moped around and felt down, but after this moment I felt joy.

As Thomas Paine once said,””The real man smiles in trouble, gathers strength from distress, and grows brave by reflection.”

gif

This event offered me reflection on happiness and positivity overall. It proved to me the power of a smile and a little bit of positivity. Her smile had made me smile, it helped me get through the rough patch I was in. A simple friendly gesture was all it took to change my mood.

I’ve made it a daily goal to do a kind gesture for somebody, whether it be a smile or just opening the door, I see to it that it happens. Before, I had never known the power of a kind deed, and the effect it could have on others. The power of a simple gesture is astounding to me.

To that one girl that one day, I’d like to say thank you for helping me in ways you never would’ve known.

smile1 s smile5

 

 

Leave a Reply

